Student computational challenge

The third IACS Computational Challenge was an exciting test of students' computational knowledge and skill. Teams of 2-3 students had two days to develop and program an algorithmic strategy to win a computational game "Stack 'Em" developed by IACS specifically for this challenge. Here are the challenge rules and information for the 2014 challenge.

Congratulations to the winning team, sophomores Rebecca Chen and Colin Lu! Rebecca is a computer science concentrator and Colin is a mathematics concentrator.

Congratulations also to the second place team, Xiang Li (CSE SM), Philip Mocz (PhD Astronomy), and Jenna Wan Jun Yang (CSE SM).

IACS was pleased to welcome Microsoft as sponsor of this year's Challenge. Winners received Xbox Ones, and the runners up received external solid state drives.

Read more about this year's challenge on the IACS website.

WHAT: Members of the IACS teaching faculty have crafted a game that tests students' programming, mathematical and strategic skills. The rules of the game will be revealed at kickoff. Teams will be allocated equal computational resources and, if needed, workspaces at SEAS.

WHO: Harvard undergraduates and graduate students up to the G2 level are eligible to participate. Students may form and register self-selected teams of 2-3 players or sign up as individuals to be matched with other players to form teams.

WHEN: The Challenge will kick off on Tuesday, January 21, 2014. Teams will play friendly games with each other and the Challenge organizers on Wednesday, January 22, to refine their tactics. The championship game will be played Thursday, January 23.

WHY: Students will play for fun, pride and prizes. The winners will be announced before academic and industry leaders at a ceremony during the "Weathering the Data Storm" symposium on Friday, January 24.

Pierce Hall 301 
29 Oxford Street
Cambridge, MA 02138


9:30 am
Tuesday, Jan. 21 Kickoff
12:00 pm
Wednesday, Jan. 22 Dry runs
1:30 pm
Thursday, Jan. 23 Team competition (round-robin tournament)
9:30 am
Friday, Jan. 24 Awarding of prizes (at FutureComp Symposium)


Read about last year's challenge.

Session Chair: Cris Cecka

Student Computational Challenge sponsor: